Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

If you know me, you know that I love cooking and eating whole, natural foods, which is why I am so excited about the Blissology Project Commitment #4: eating food that’s high on the pranameter(TM).  It makes sense, right?  If we eat food that comes from a natural, prana (energy) filled source (ideally no factories between you and your food) we are going to be more radiantly alive?

To celebrate that awesome connection between this simple idea: we are what we eat, here’s a recipe for some blissology “bliss” balls, made with organic, raw ingredients and a whole lotta love.

Speaking of which, I love bliss balls.  I think the first super-awesomely healthy one I ever had was at Capers on W. 4th Avenue in Kitsilano, before Capers was bought out by Wild Oats, and then of course by Whole (Paycheck) Foods!  I loved the cocoa ones, because of the rich, decadent chocolate-y taste, the flaky coconut and yet the healthy sweetness of no artificial sugar, just some good, whole foods.

I’ve experimented with various recipes since then.  These are my current favorites.  If you’re a busy mom, yogi, tri-athlete or simply just someone like the rest of us, on the go, try these bliss balls as a to-go snack.  They’re great for kids, perfect for a long bike ride, hike or just simply as an anytime/anywhere energy boost.

Full of rich antioxidants like walnuts, lemon zest, dates, raw cocoa powder, cocoa nibs and coconut, they are also easy to make.  Sometimes I add cinnamon and dried powdered ginger to them, sometimes cardamom, sometimes a hint of chipotle chili pepper to speed up your metabolism and add some heat.  It all depends!  Lemon juice and zest really uplifts the taste – I got this handy tip from my good friend the lovely natural foods chef Judy Chambers, and I have to say, I do think these are actually better than those Caper’s bliss balls now! 🙂

Let me know what creative variations you come up with!!! Lavender anyone?

Insiya’s Bliss “ball” ogy Bliss Balls:
1 cup raw organic walnuts (or almonds or cashews)
1/2 cup shredded organic coconut
1/4 cup raw organic coconut oil (softened)
1/2 cup dutch processed cocoa powder (i like the cocoa camino brand)
handful of cocoa nibs (navitas is yummy)
zest from 1 organic lemon
juice from 1 organic lemon
healthy pinch of sea salt
handful of mejdool dates (or other soft dates) de-seeded
spices to taste

Method:
Coarsely chop dates, add everything into a food processor, process until the mixture gets thick and clumpy.  I like it a bit granular, not too smooth, so a few minutes is usually about all you need.  Taste for sweetness and spice / flavor.  Adjust accordingly and pulse a few more times if you need to.  Then empty the mixture out into a bowl or large rimmed plate.  Form into little balls in your palms and roll in a plate of shredded coconut.  Place on a platter or in a box within layers of parchment paper and chill.

And do try to restrain yourself from eating them all at once!

